Young Adult Advisory Boards

Posted on Updated on

I don’t about all of you, but I kind of have a love/hate relationship with the young adult advisory board. I have a group of ten teens, ranging from 7th grade through 12th grade (Can you believe I have two seniors returning? I’m shocked. And happy.) I love working with these teens – they make me laugh, and think, and sometimes want to pull my hair out and sometimes have to bite my tongue but they are the best part of my job. Connecting with people. That’s why I love this job.

The hate part comes from constantly trying to find projects, meaningful projects, to do with them. Because I give them community service hours for their time spent at the library, I feel compelled to come up with worthwhile things for them to do.

So my group has its first meeting on October 5th and I’m going to throw a couple ideas at them:

1. Choosing a library board liaison to attend a couple library board meetings and report all things YA at Hall Memorial Library.

2. Doing a joint book discussion with our local senior center. I was thinking about two discussions actually. One would be a title of the seniors choosing and one would be a title of our choosing. I think it would be interesting to get two viewpoints from people at such different stages of life. What do you think? I’m afraid they’re going to look at me like I just suggested root canal surgery. If they even know what that is.

3. Plan a field trip somewhere, but I don’t know where. Any thoughts on book related places we could visit? In the past I’ve taken them to the NYPL and to Boston for ALA. Anyone know of any local publishing houses that give tours?

All thoughts and ideas for what to do with my yaab would be appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Young Adult Advisory Boards

    Claudette said:
    September 23, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    I love the idea of the choosing of books – what a great thought!

    Gillian said:
    September 23, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    WOW that’s amazing that you have so many teens in your advisory board! I’m still struggling: I’ve had two meetings with only two teens slightly interested. Anyway, I think your book discussion with seniors is a great idea. This will not only give them community service hours, but I think it’ll be a great experience for them.
    Also with all the holidays coming up, a craft session @ a nursing home might also be slightly appealing to the teens. Who doesn’t like making Christmas cards? It’s fun AND it’s outreach. Just a suggestion 🙂

      Cheryl said:
      September 29, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Thanks, Gillian. I like that craft session idea. I’ll run it by my board and get their feedback. Thanks for the great idea! =]

    Kristi said:
    September 29, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    We just had our first meeting of the year at the Booth & Dimock Library yesterday. I had 4 teens show up, all previous members.

    Last year they worked at each meeting creating items for a craft fair held the same day as our book sale. We are going to do the same this fall. We are intending to use the money to purchase holiday gifts as part of the town sponsored drive. We are also decorating a tree for a tree auction. I believe last year the money was donated to the Thanksgiving food drive.

Leave a Reply

