Books for Boys

Posted on Updated on

I know this is a topic for the next meeting. but there were people asking for a list earlier. I’ve realized last year that my reading habits and my displays choices were primarily girly and I’ve been working on changing that.  I’ve been trying to read more guy books.  There’s also a blog aimed at promoting books for guys.

Here’s a list of books that I’ve recently read and enjoyed:

New

Nathan Fox: Dangerous Times

Devil’s Breath

Shifty (hate the cover)

39 Clues series

Fire of Ares

Not New

Sure Fire and Death Note

First Shot

Changing Tides (don’t own)

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn (main character is a girl pretending to be a boy)

Last Knight

Here’s a few books that we own, but that I haven’t read

Runewarriors

Daylight Runner

Mortal Coils

Restless Dead

Mexican White Boy

Heroes Valley

If I Grow Up

Hand You’re Dealt

Playing with Matches

Way of the Warrior

Tormod

Last Exit to Normal

Tim Defender of the Earth

Yellow Flag

Drugs, Girls, and Dangerous Pie

Here’s a list that circulated through a YALSA listserv recently

Project Sweetlife by Brent Hartinger
Slob by Ellen Potter
Swim the Fly by Don Calame
Hurricane Gold by Charles Higson (Young James Bond Series)
King of the Screw Ups by KL Going
Reality Check by Peter Abrahms
Two Parties, One Tux and a Very Short Film About the Grapes of Wrath by Steve Goldman
No Such Thing As the Real World (short stories) by M.T. Anderson, K. L. Going, Beth Kephart, Chris Lynch and others
My Father’s Son by Terri Fields
Response by Paul Volponi
Hunger: A Gone Novel by Michael Grant
Twilight Prisoner by Katherine Marsh (sequel to the Night Tourist)
Spectacular Now by Tim Tharpe
Why I Fight by J. Adams Oaks
Sprout by Dale Peck
Bait by Alex Sanchez
Angry Management by Chris Crutcher

I hope that’s not overwhelming. In putting this list together, I didn’t put in any nonfiction – which is huge for boys as well as manga/comic books.  Also, while I’m reading some great books, it’s still not enough and it’s something I’m still struggling with.

Leave a Reply

