Summer Reading Thoughts

Posted on

I’m starting to think about Summer Reading. I’m working off the Express Yourself concept, but I’m really curious about a few topics:

1. Kick Off Events:  Do you have one? Is it a large event? Do you call it a Kick-off?

2. Finale: Same questions as above?

3. When do you end your “summer” I usually have three or so programs a week starting the last full week in June and going through the last week of July.  And then I give myself August to read and relax, though  I do have some programs.

4. Prizes: What kind do you have? How do you hand them out? I’ve done it differently both years in CT, and neither have worked out really well.  I’m interested in either having a game or a store.

thanks, Jennifer R.

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading Thoughts

    Ronna said:
    January 23, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Jen,

    I haven’t really had a teen summer program, but with the program for the younger kids, I’ve given out books as prizes. The kids seem to like it. Most are donated books. But I also give out some of the extra Nutmeg books I have (I buy multiple copies). The kids don’t really mind that they have been processed by the library.

    Maris Frey said:
    February 11, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    We began a store two summers ago, so we are moving into our 3rd year. It has been very successful and we are definitely staying with it (a warning…..it is a lot of work, but it’s fun work) Each year, we tweak it a bit to keep it fresh. I left you a message today; please feel free to call me if you’re interested in something like this.

Leave a Reply

